Skip to Content
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Flickr
  • YouTube
« Return to Press Releases

Municipal leaders gather in the capital city for the Arkansas Municipal League’s 85th Convention

June 10, 2019


Contact: Mark R. Hayes, Executive Director

Whitnee V. Bullerwell, Deputy Director

Arkansas Municipal League, 501-374-3484


The Arkansas Municipal League will hold its 85th Convention June 12-14 at the Statehouse Convention Center and Marriott Hotel in Little Rock. Municipal officials from across the state will elect new officers, update the League’s policies and goals, and discuss local and national issues affecting municipalities.

            North Little Rock Mayor Joe Smith, League president, and Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin, first vice president, will preside during the Convention.

            Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson will address the Convention during the noon Awards Luncheon on Thursday, June 13.

            Key topics covered during the Convention will include an overview of legislation passed during the 92nd General Assembly of the Arkansas Legislature that impacts cities and towns, the role of municipal employers when it comes to medical marijuana, small cell technology and broadband expansion, utilizing the new Opportunity Zones for economic development, and numerous legal issues affecting municipalities.

            The Convention will include 21 concurrent workshops covering subjects of municipal interest, including the collection of online sales tax, FOIA’s new audio recording requirement, cybersecurity, building design regulations, street and infrastructure funding, and more.

            The Convention will also include three hours of the League’s Voluntary Certified Continuing Education Program for municipal officials.

            More than 1,300mayors, council members, and other city and town leaders, as well as state legislators are expected to attend the 85th Convention.

            The Convention concludes with the New Officers’ and Awards Luncheon at noon on Friday, which serves to introduce the new League president and officers for the year 2019-2020 and to honor individuals for their service to municipalities during the past year.

            The Arkansas Municipal League is a service and advocacy organization for the municipalities of Arkansas. The League offers its programs and services to all 500 cities and towns in the state and was created in 1934 to assist cities with information and representation in the public affairs of our state and nation. To find out more, please visit